2 Stroke engine not used in 3 years

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by Pete_M, May 7, 2008.

1. Pete_M

Pete_M Junior Member

I have a 2000 Yamaha 2hp 2 stroke outboard that has been siting in a garage for 3 years. The fuel/oil mix was not drained. Is getting this motor up and running a major ordeal? I'm a pretty handly engineer, but not a boat mechanic...can i remedy this myself?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Pete M

2. dragonjbynight

dragonjbynight Senior Member

I had the same issue with a motorcycle a few years back, the gas in the tank had been sitting for close to 7 years. Needless to say, it was closer to turpentine then gas. I dumped out as much as possible, then ran through a batch of gas with a bit of oil in it. In this case, I would clean out what you can, replace the spark plug, any filters and then run a little richer fuel through it and see how it plays out.

Hope this helps, as i am by no means a professional.

3. Pete_M

Pete_M Junior Member

Thanks for the advice. What exactly do you mean by "a little richer fuel"? Sorry, amateur here :)

4. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

You can't on a fuel injected engine, just drain out all the old fuel and let it run, it will be perfect (hey, it is a Yammie).

5. Pete_M

Pete_M Junior Member

So you don't recommend replacing the filters and spark plug right away? Should I mix a little richer fuel/oil and refuel after i drain the old fuel out? I'm assuming richer means more oil :)

6. tuantom

tuantom Senior Member

First thing I'd do is try to start it, see where it goes from there. The carburetor will probably need a cleaning - but if you can get it started and running half-way decent, you can probably get away with just running some additives through the fuel tank.
    Anyway, it can't hurt to run some gas through it and pull on it a few times. Just remember to put it in a bucket or clamp ear-muffs on it to keep the impeller from burning up. It may just surprise you.

7. dragonjbynight