1982 Mercury 80 hp

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by ctjohns34, Jan 29, 2015.

1. ctjohns34

ctjohns34 New Member

I am not a boat mechanic but I am good with tools. I just purchased a pontoon boat which came with an 1982 80 hp merc. I have noticed one time you start it it will run great. The next time it may run fine or it may idle high and act like it is not firing on all cylinders. I can watch the tac and when its running well I'm at about 5k when it is messing up 3k is the best it will do unless i keep hitting the choke. I replaced the fuel line, primer bulb and added an inline filter. I have gone no further other than getting a service manual for it. I also noticed it is sporting a plastic prop which I am not too keen on, seems like it would tend to flex way too much so it will be replaced and saved as a back up. Thanks for any advice on which way to go.

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

You should buy a workshop manual for this engine, if you intend to do work on it yourself. You will find troubleshooting easier that way.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

That would normally indicate carburetors that are clogged or an air leak. Most probably they need to be rebuilt.

4. ctjohns34

ctjohns34 New Member

I was thinking fuel more so, a lack of it since I can hit the choke and it picks up. I hate to chase intermitant problems :mad:

5. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Could be a sticking needle valve, could be many things, but without a manual, it is more difficult.

1 person likes this.
  6. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

[​IMG]

The very first part you buy for your new boat. It'll point you into the neighborhood where the next round of parts buying will live.