1965 Delta Holiday Wooden Boat

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Dawn M, Nov 22, 2007.

1. Dawn M

Dawn M New Member

Hi everyone, I'm yet another newbie here! I have attached pictures of an old boat I have recently purchased and cannot find any information on it? It was built by the Delta Boat Company that shortly went out of business I'm thinking in '65. She is in original factory conditon with but a few little glitches. I'm trying to keep her that way without a total refinishing! If anyone can help me out with more info on the Delta Company and or suggest sites I can go to? That would be greatly appreciated! Here is what I have so far....
    The Delta Boat Company manufactured high-end wooden boats to compete with the emerging fiberglass market in the mid-1960s. Delta, like many other wooden boat manufacturers, used the fiberglass resin technology to continue to satisfy the wooden boat market. Fiberglass boats use a female mold laid up with sheets of fiberglass cloth saturated with epoxy resin. Several wooden boat manufacturers used the same technology replacing fiberglass sheets with wood veneers. That Delta Boat Co. elevated this technology to an art form using fine imported mahogany veneers. Additionally, they did not pattern their molds from old hull designs. Delta started from scratch using newly formulated nautically engineered designs. There is no frame or superstructure to this boat; its strength is in its skin. The result was a magnificent lightweight wooden boat with all the advantages of low-maintenance fiberglass. These boats looked beautiful, were very fast, and very expensive at the time. Not many survived to today as they were prone to dry rot and not maintained properly. I'm now actually wondering how many are left?
    Thanks for any help!!!!
    c1e2_3.jpg c2e1_3.jpg c26d_3.jpg c229_3.jpg c369_3.jpg

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder