1959 Penn Yan Magellen Restoration Questions

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by gillam77, Jan 17, 2010.

1. gillam77

gillam77 Junior Member

Project Status
    I have sourced the above mentioned boat and have mainly dismantled and determined in some sense what will be needed structurally to restore this boat. Let it be know that I have some experience in almost all non-mechanical boat maintenance though I certainly consider myself an amateur.

Boat Construction
    Lap strake plywood on oak frames. A 1 1/2" mahogany gunwale that is screwed through each rib (at the gunwale) into a 3 3/16" X 1 5/8" spruce.

Question 1
    The spruce gunwales have rotted at the forward end. What type of wood should I use? (Dimensions above) I intend to epoxy ¼” mahogany or ¼” teak and mahogany on top.

Question 2
    The previous owner butchered the transom so as to put a short shaft motor onto the boat. I intend to repair to its original height. The transom consists of two layers of ¾” mahogany plywood. I have cut back one layer of plywood around the entire butchered area by about 4” enable to overlay the joints. Using West System, I plan on laminating the two layers of the same material with the 4” overlap. I also plan on drilling for hardwood dowels also using West System. The question being… are the dowels necessary or will their be sufficient strength? There will be a 90hp outboard.

Question 3
    There are three adjacent oak ribs that appear to have dry rot. They have cracks that appear like extremely gone bad, to weather wood. Is putting in sister ribs a good solution? What are the best bonding mechanisms and other resources for learning how to render such a repair?

Question 4
    The plywood in the bilge has rot, likely though the at least the first laminate. What is the best way to revert further damage? Should I remove all soft wood and then epoxy, or “seal” the wood in some other manner?

Question 5