Old Volvo penta TAMD40A

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by Vulkyn, Nov 8, 2013.

1. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

Thats the model fitted on the boat I'm looking at i dug out its manual but at 28 years old and no proper frame of maintenance reference i am sure to expect issues.

I have contacted Volvo and i will get an engineer to survey the engine but as always i need to get an idea of what i should be looking at (aside from the data on the manual)
    I have zero experience in diesel engines :S

Here is the manual for reference.
    https://docs.google.com/folderview?...R6WGJ4MzFfQTQ&id=0B0aVKNy145MyRXhpZThkN2RFcjg

2. whitepointer23

whitepointer23 Previous Member

give it a good run and make sure the egine oil is still clear and not milky. they crack heads easily . can be covered up with an oil and filter change before u look at it. corrosion can be a problem, but i don't know how u can check a block. i have seen 1 crack through a cylinder due to this. oil consumption, they like to be driven not potter around, they are a high revving engine and soon glaze if not worked. open up the water side of the after cooler and see what gunk is built up in there. i really think this stuff is beyond u and the volvo mechanic is a good idea as long as he is concientous and not just filling in time . it is very hard to get a decent mechanic these days, try and get feedback from someone else that has used them. for what its worth, the 41 b is a much better engine if you could swap to 1 of those later on.

3. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

The boat is a about a 3 hour drive the owner is an older gentlemen due to his age he cant handle several trips, so first thing i got to do is make sure the mechanic knows what he is doing no point discovering that when we are at the sight.
    If the boat is sound and in good condition then yes that make sense, the TAMD40A is a troublesome engine ?
    I guess the 41b is he same size and would fit with would modification?