I'm Kind of Lost

Discussion in 'Education' started by vmalek, Nov 5, 2011.

1. vmalek

vmalek Junior Member

Hey guys,

I'm an undergraduate at King's College London, studying Mechatronics engineering.

I want to work in the yachting field as a naval architect, I've been drawing yachts on Rhino for a while now and i really enjoyed it.

I'm thinking of doing a master but I don't know which one to do and in which university. If you guys could help me out that would be great :)

Thanks

Victor

2. BTG YACHT DSGN

BTG YACHT DSGN -sailing is believing-

By the way... Is it possible to make a Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering and then make a Master in Naval Architecture? Does that even has any sense? Or is it better to move on to Bachelor in NA as soon as possible?

( I'm currently studying Mechanical Engineering on Warsaw University of Technology in Poland, but I''m thinking of making Master on Southhampton University (Naval Architecture) )

3. SuenosAzules

SuenosAzules Junior Member

Honestly, I would contact marine surveyors in your area and other marine related refit or fiberglass type companies. That is a great learning experience in your field. It is best to get someone that is patient and even open to learning a few things from you. If you're ever in West Palm Beach, send me an email and I would be more than happy for you to come along with me on a survey.

4. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

5. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Research in the area (geographically) where you want to work and see what the industry is needing/wanting/lacking and design your education on that. Also, get out your crystal ball and look into the future to see what the market will look like when you graduate.

Good luck!

-Tom

6. DavidJ

DavidJ Senior Member