Cost to build a Bluenose yacht

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by bobby_mcgrath, Jul 29, 2006.

1. bobby_mcgrath

bobby_mcgrath Junior Member

I am a junior naval architect looking into starting a fabrication company for Bluenose class yachts. I was hoping I could get some insight on how much the production cost would be for a yacht of this size. I am not looking for actual company start up cost (mold fabrication, equipment, etc), as this is already covered.I am just looking for the material cost I guess, and possible an estimate on the amount of labor needed. The website is http://www.wjroue.com/BluenoseClass/index.html

Here are some of the particulars:
    Length, overall 23' 5"
    Length, waterline 16' 0"
    Beam 6' 3"
    Depth 2' 4"
    Draft 3' 8"
    Displacement 2,050 lbs
    Keel ballast, wooden design 750-755 lbs lead
    Keel ballast, fiberglass design 815-900 lbs cast iron
    Height of mast above deck 28' 9"
    Length of boom 12' 4"
    Sail area 218 sq. ft.

I am hoping to build them from FRP, using molds and vacuum bagging. Any insight would be great.

Bob McGrath

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

Bluenose

Bob, a truly beautiful classic yacht! I'm not sure how familiar you are with the Alerion sold by Garry Hoyt(Newport R&D ) and built by TPI Composites but you might consider that kind of business model. In other words, have an established, reputable builder produce the boat for you- saves the headaches of a production boat building operation. Garry is very approachable and a damn nice guy; you might give him a call just to talk over your plans. His phone number at Newport R& D is: 401-683-9450
    Eric Sponberg ,contributor to this forum and marine engineer in addition to also being a naval architect, could help you with a professional assessment of the technical details and costing of the boat; his phone is 904-460-9494 ( www.sponbergyachtdesign.com )