looking for advise

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by slow troller, Mar 8, 2008.

1. slow troller

slow troller Junior Member

hey fellow boat builders,
    im new to this forum but i have read numerous postings, comments, etc I have done countless hours of research and decided on my first project a 20' to 24' cc boat with a small diesel motor speed is not as important to me as fuel mileage and reliability I am a die hard fisherman so I have certain requirements 2 50 gallon live wells and lots of room fish boxes and lots of fuel for long days of trolling and or hunting fish I live in new England so I fish rivers open water and close into rocks one of the questions I have is gear ratio and or speed conversion I am a mechanic by trade and understand automotive drive trains but I am a little lost on the this motor speed and hp makes this boat go this fast I neeeeeddd the math. anybody who can recommend a good book or web page explaining the math to me that would be great. next I would like some opinions on clarkcrAFT boat kits . I have been looking at the Viking 22' cc kit if anyone has built one of these please let me know a few things like in board engine capacity how it preforms in rough water, shallow water or any other kits for the same size boat. other then the motor I troll a lot I have limited knowledge of boat transmissions but I have read numerous pages on hydraulic trolling valves/transmissions any in site on these will help me make a great choice

2. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

Hi Slo,
    You need to visit boatdiesel.com for details on power/drive train design and construction. They provide calculators to help you decide horsepower, transmission, shaft size, propellor, etc, and how-to articles on installation and other related topics. It costs $25 to get in for a year, but is well worth the bucks. The prop calculator alone is worth its weight in gold, as it also provides fuel burn and speed numbers.