building pontoon logs

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by lil beaver, Sep 20, 2015.

1. lil beaver

lil beaver New Member

Hello all,

I have an older 20' pontoon that we use for crabbing and fishing in the Chesapeake bay. It is in rough condition, and the saltwater has taken it's tole on the logs over the years. I have been thinking about building new glass over wood logs for it as well as a new pod for my outboard. Glass will hold up better to salt, and hopefully if designed right give me more speed.

I have put together a rough design for this and wanted to get your opinion. Let me just clarify that I am no designer and have no experience designing anything. Any and all input is welcomed. The logs are 22" high, around 26" wide at water line, with a 10 degrees deadrise. A increase in flotation, and running surface from my 23" round aluminum logs I have now.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Looks good. Depending on the conditions you go out in, a finer entry bow could help. The Chesapeake gets a nasty chop at times.

3. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Lil Beaver, be particularly wary, the phrase "looks good" could be the beginning of your downfall. You should ask someone knowledgeable to do some brief calculations to check that the pontoon, in all cases, will behave as you wish.

4. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

Looks much gooderer than round ones... depending on power and speed some spray rails/deflecters might be good too, looks a lot like a pontoon boat built by a Quintrex worker that I saw, seemed to go good with from distant memory about a 20-25hp outboard.
    I think some steps for entry/egress from water might be nice too.... twin outboards would get rid of the centre pod/nacelle but at extra cost ...., some extra sharp V to the nacelle would be good too.....
    Jeff

5. lil beaver

lil beaver New Member