aerospace engineer looking for school

Discussion in 'Education' started by sebastian, May 16, 2004.

1. sebastian

sebastian New Member

I graduated with and aerospace engineering degree three years ago,and I have been working in the aircraft industry as a design engineer. Now I'm looking to go back to school for yacht design, and I wanted to know if there is a market for someone like me and what school would be best suited for someone with my background.

Thank you for any information

Sebastian

2. waterman

waterman Boat Geek

Sebastian
    My brother is an aerospace engineer (embry-riddle), and I'm one year from graduating with a naval arch. degree. We have compared our courses catalogs and they are essentially the same ,course for course. You all ready posess a degree, if yoiu want to learn how to design boats, try getting a job with a naval arch firm. That way you get paid to learn in stead of the other way around. Or.... check out the landing school, they have a ten month intensive program. I think thier program will complement your aerospace degree and will give you the additional schooling that you feel you need.

3. concerned

concerned Guest

Dude-

The landing school is for designers. Assuming your BS if from a good school, thers not too many choices for a MSE/MS.

4. CDBarry

CDBarry Senior Member

Please note the relative paucity of jobs in yacht design. However, that said, you can probably just get a job with a decent real NA firm, especially one that does model tests, (in Newfoundland, maybe) or analytic work in structures or CFD or whatever your speciality is. You can just read a few texts to get caught up.

Alternatively, go to UNO, U Mich, or whatever for an MS.

5. sebastian

sebastian New Member