cnc machining

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by cerberus, Mar 22, 2006.

1. cerberus

cerberus New Member

hi

i am new to the whole boat industry. i come from an cnc routing background with a 3 axis machine (multicam). had alot of fun with that machine now i am moving onto a 5 axis machine. i am totally new to the 5 axis scene and i wanted to know what literature a person can look at that is on the net, what software is generally used and what is a good place to start for general boat jargen and info.

i had a look on the net but all i can find is sales pitches and no real information.
    i have worked with rhino and visual mill. from what i can see visual mill can only do 4th axis milling and not 5. even though on their site they say they do. what is the differance between 4 axis and 5 axis milling

all help is appreciated

thanks

2. Karsten

Karsten Senior Member

In general I don't think there is much CNC work done in the boat industry. There are a few places that could CNC cut a whole hull plug. Nautor Swan and DK Yachts are examples. Most common is probably your 3 axis machine to cut interior panels.

A 4 axis machine can move the spindle in the x, y and z direction and the spindle itself rotates around one of the axis. That makes 4 in total. A 5 axis machine must be able to rotate the spindle around a further axis. To place the cutter tangent to a 3D surface you would need a 6 axis machine.

3. Splint

Splint Junior Member

Hi Cerberus,
    have a look on www.cnczone.com and search through the archives, also have a look at http://www.rainnea.com/cnc for some general information on 5 axis machining.