Grown frames

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Cornish Mark, Dec 13, 2005.

1. Cornish Mark

Cornish Mark Junior Member

Hi i have just started a rebuild on a 20 ft Porthleven cove boat.
    Her construction is both grown & steamed frames, which both need replacing along with 3 planks.
    I am looking for any info with regards to the replacment of the grown frames as i have never done this before.
    Regards Mark

2. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member

Ah, grown frames, young fellah me lad...
    A long, long history - going back to Elizabethan times. There was an official post created by that strange lady 'With the heart of a man...'
    Chaps would wander through the English forests looking for suitably shaped timbers (branches, roots, etc) and hammer a 'royal tag' in them ready for future harvest. For a non-royal ship builder to remove them was punishable by hanging. These timbers were used to build the various fleets which faced those dreadful foreigners - the Spanish, French and Dutch...
    As you probably know, many of those same timbers can still be seen in some of the older houses, barns and churches along ther English coastline as roofing beams and trusses (after the fleets had been broken up, or wrecked.)
    However to answer your question - how do you replace them - if that was the question: Contact your local Forestry Commission (with hardwood forests in its care), or country estates with friendly gamekeepers/warreners or what have you, and ask if you can have a squint at what's available. Explain your needs - and with luck you'll get a sympathetic hearing. However freshly gleaned 'shapes' will need at least a year's seasoning before use. But, rest assured - grown shapes are up to 300 percent stronger/more reliable than steamed or laminated ribs.