What Sail To Use

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by PsiPhi, Jul 31, 2007.

1. PsiPhi

PsiPhi Newbie

Hi, Im new to boating (haven't actually been in one yet!) but I'm going to build a small (10'~14') dingy and have a go at it.

Just want to ask people what type of sail they recommend - and why.

I want a rig that is
    • easy to set up and take down
    • forgiving on a novice.
    • can be handled by one person.
    • minimum number of ropes, pulleys etc.
    • doesn't need to be fast.
    I see lug sails, and sprit sails, and lateens and bermuda slops (that's not a typo :)) - no idea what they all are, what are the benefits or weakness of each, etc. etc.

2. water addict

water addict Naval Architect

get a Laser rig.

3. PI Design

PI Design Senior Member

That was going to be my recommendation too. Simple, effective, proven.

4. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member

Sprit - simplicity itself.

5. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Simplest is a boomless bermudan sail sleeved around the mast.
    In reality, it's better to say you want a sail that's not too complicated. Most all sail rigs are simple. Some mainsails are better for certain types of boats too. The hull may be tender, and so a low rig is desirable. That can often mean a squarish shape only possible from a sprit, gaff, lug, or other four-cornered sail.
    Those sail rigs also have shorter spars, easier to stow inside a boat that also rows or motors.
    Going without a boom is a plus for a beginner on a small boat, since mismanagement of the rig can lead to the sail swinging across at head level.
    Every sail type can be used without a boom.