Wiring Harnesses For Small Boat and Trailer

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Bob Smalser, Jul 3, 2004.

1. Bob Smalser

Bob Smalser Junior Member

A lifetime of maintaining farm and heavy equipment out here in the wet…interspersed with over three decades of maintaining Army tactical vehicles used by young soldiers all over the world…have given me some strong opinions about vehicle electrics. These wiring harnesses reflect those opinions…. and the opinion that any small boat liable to be caught out in the ferry lanes in a fog bank needs to have minimal lights, horn and electric pump. Moreover, those lights, horn and pump need to be just as reliable 20 years from now as they are the day they were installed. I’m not a qualified electrician, and my opinions should be weighted accordingly…I’m just a lazy builder who never wants to have to mess with the electrics again once they are installed.

[​IMG]

Marine wiring standards call for crimpled connections and protected terminal blocks like the older but professional installation shown above (that needs some maintenance). The books say that proper crimps and terminals have slightly less resistance than properly soldered splices and connections, and I don’t disagree….

[​IMG]

…but what do you suppose the resistance is after several decades of user abuse? Add to that the fact that those bus bars are always hot, and invariably hard to get to in a small boat (or the panel the main aesthetic feature of the cuddy), and I’ll go with permanent, sealed connections every time. Crimped, soldered, greased, heat shrunk and armored.

[​IMG]