Help in determining building materials requirements... please!

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Navy Dave, Sep 24, 2007.

1. Navy Dave

Navy Dave Junior Member

Hello,

I am a MBA student at Southern Methodist University - Cox School of Business. I am working on a five-year business plan project for a start-up boat manufacturing company. Not only is this a required project, but also I would like to see if this is a feasible project to actually pursue.

My question is how many layers and of what kind (mat, weave, weight?) of Fiberglass media would you recommend for a 14.5' planeing, air-entrapment hull, given your experience? I also have no idea of what type of core material to use, other than I want it to be 100% wood free. The construction method will be vacuum infusion.

My passion is fishing and water sports, but my expertise is in finance. If anyone can fill the gap with materials needed for this project I would be very appreciative.

This is only for forecast financials. Inaccuracies in materials requirements can have a significant impact in my financial projections. So any help would be appreciated!

Thanks to all in advance!

Dave

Last edited: Sep 29, 2007
  2. nero

nero Senior Member

You would need a boat design before you could have a material list ... before you can create your boat company.

The horse goes before the cart. smile

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Yes, the concept (what do you want the boat to do?), then the size, shape, and weight requirement (design parameters) derived from that, then the hull material choice, then the lamination schedule to achieve the design parameters.
    What you've described is either a sailboat or a motor boat with a max speed of between 10 and 40 knots. You can get some solid advice if you nail down the design concept---- describe it, and draw it out.

Alan

4. Navy Dave

Navy Dave Junior Member

Clarification:

Hello,

Thank you for your willingness to lend your advice.