? wire size for bosch starter

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by broadsword, Feb 7, 2006.

1. broadsword

broadsword ignorance is NOT bliss!

Hello Everyone,
    I’m new to tinkering with boats and have jumped in with both feet so to speak. Project 1 is a recently purchased 24’ glass commercial fishing boat. project 2 is a boat and trailer I picked up for free recently, It is an old glass AMF Crusader, approx 17’ with a pretty good looking merc cruiser I/O. Haven’t had either started yet. I haven’t tried to start the AMF, still tearing out the interior to prep it for a hard-top conversion. Yes, I’m pretty enthusiastic. We will see how long that and the bank account last.
    My first of most likely many questions is;:confused: what wire size should I use from the battery to the starter? The starter is a Bosch 0-001-362-304, 12v, 3kw. It is starting an old BMW D-150, turbocharged, 6cyl, diesel. I was going to purchase tinned marine grade wire with custom crimps for length witch should be about 3’ from the battery to the starter and about 5’ from the battery to ground. My idea :idea: was to go big and get 2/00 but If this is a bad idea I would like to know.
    I have searched for specs on this starter and haven’t found much info. I would like to know what size battery I need? I bought 2 of the marine batteries at Costco and the starter would crank but real slow. So I cleaned the existing battery wires both + and -. The + wire is large and appeared to be ok ( didn’t cut the insulation to check for corrosion.) The - wire is smaller and didn’t look so good. I cleaned as well as I could with a wire brush, put it all back together with the new battery and nothing changed. I pulled the starter and had it tested under a load and it checked out ok. I suspect the negative wire and the cranking amps of the battery. The battery says 750MCA ? and 150 amp hours ?