Wing sailed catamaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by M Newbee, May 22, 2008.

1. M Newbee

M Newbee New Member

Hi everyone,

I’ve often looked up information on this forum, and now finally i registered, too.
    I am studying Industrial Design and i've already made some designs for motor- and sailingyachts. Right now I’m working on my diploma, which is a 30-40 m sailing catamaran. Basically it’s a concept for a toy for rich people. The concept is to work with asymmetrical (cambered) wing sails on both sides. The ones which aren’t in use are supposed to be flapped in or onto the hull. I’ve made a lot of research but actually i’m still not an expert on aerodynamics. Racing catamarans with wing sails have symmetrical wings with complex constructions of flaps and stuff. Actually I’m a little overstrained with what would make sense and what could be useful, since the owner should not need a diploma to trim the sails. But still the whole thing should work well even though it won’t have to win any regattas since it’s supposed to be a cruising catamaran.
    I’m not an engineer - I’m more doing the concept and design part. A problem is also that I have tons of airfoil data but just very little on sails, so that I’m not really able to compare anything. Thanks to Marchaj I have some basic knowledge, but still this is not enough to say how my wing sail should exacly look like.

I would be really glad if someone could give me some hints or ideas.
    I’m really interested in your opinion!

Thanks!

2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

The simple answer is, if you dont need to win races, then it doesnt matter what shape it is. You can go crazy with interesting shapes, and you will be hard pressed not to make something that will make the boat move - especially a light hull like a catamaran. eg the Crab Claw sails of hawaian canoes,