Carbon fiber thoughts for a 122 year old cargo boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by HVVega, Jan 19, 2014.

1. HVVega

HVVega New Member

Vega is a 122 year old Hardanger built sailing cargo vessel (www.sailvega.com if you are interested) Every year Vega sails around 8,000 sea miles delivering roughly 25 tons of donated educational and medical supplies to some of South East Asia's most remote island communities.

Our main mast ( Norwegian Pine) is reputed to be older than the boat and is still just fine bar the odd check. Our mizen mast (Red maranti - the only wood we could find at the time) is suffering from serious rot and must be replaced. I have been toying with the thought of using a large diameter carbon fiber pipe with wooden plugs at each end to form the base and extending to form the mast head - we have top masts. I have extensive boat building experience, but have never worked with carbon fiber so have no idea of what this might entail.

Anyone have any idea if this would work and what wall thickness I should look for? Existing mast is 10 meters tall and 26 cm diameter. It is well stayed in the traditional manner with 3 shrouds a side and back stays . Any help would be appreciated. We simply cannot get mast wood here so I must invent something to keep us going.

2. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

Steel pipe will be a lot easier to come by than carbon, and far less money.

3. SukiSolo

SukiSolo Senior Member

If you can get stuff from Oz, it might be worth seeing if you can get some Quandong (silver) timber as it looks like a suitable replacement material.

4. bpw

bpw Senior Member

It will work, but it will be crazy expensive. I have seen masts that size quoted in the $20,000 range.

5. HVVega

HVVega New Member