Trimaran early stage design

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by julien, Oct 27, 2008.

1. julien

julien New Member

Hello everyone!

I am a young naval architect with no much experience and I am currently working on a Trimaran design.
    This trimaran will have a length overall between 70 and 80 m. the cruise speed will be 18 knots and the max speed 25 knots
    I will try to find “the best” compromise between the resistance, seakeeping and space onboard. To help me reach this target I have developed a fully parameterized hull and plan to use optimization techniques rather than the conventional design spiral approach.

As I know that some people on this forum have the experience that I don’t have, I was thinking that you could maybe help me with my starting point (baseline design).
    I send you the lines plan:
    If there is anything that shocks you, a parameter that you think is clearly not optimum or simply if you don’t like it, please let me know!
    Your comments will be very useful.

The parameters are:
    LOA=73 m
    BOA=20m
    Displacement=1000t
    Distance between CLs =8.1m
    Displacement of outriggers= 3.5% of total displacement

Thank you for your help!

Attached Files:

• tri.JPG
      tri.JPG
      File size:
      97.4 KB
      Views:
  2. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

On that size boat that is not a challenge, you can almost get a town on it.

Try doing it on a 9m trimaran, foldable and trailable. Don't copy other designers ideas.

3. Tcubed

Tcubed Boat Designer

Could you please draw in the LWL and explain what its purpose is and what propulsion it will use.

4. julien

julien New Member

This is a case study for training purpose.
    I should indeed have told you that this is a megayacht
    the propulsion will be diesel electric with traditional shaft- propeller configuration.

I ask you to comment on this first hull form in order to make sure that I am on the right track.
    I am not and will not try to copy other designers Ideas.