wind turbined electric powered catamaran - HELP :)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nivo7, May 3, 2011.

1. nivo7

nivo7 Junior Member

Hi guys, for the last few days I have been reading some posts on that forum and I was amazed by the knowledge that some of you have (and the experience).

My name is Niv and I am a mechanic engineering final year student.
    and now I am working on my final project

I am planning and designing a wind turbine elecrtic powered catamaran.
    now, its importent to say that we never learn anything about the marine engineering , so my knowledge is quite poor on this subject.

I was googling for long time searching for some equations related to this matter.
    I have found this website http://www.catamaransite.com/catamaran_hull_dimensioning.html
    which gave me some basic information.

I also used "terhohalme"'s excel chart "PARAMETRIC STUDY OF SAILING CATAMARANS" to get more info about what I need to do.

I want to make it 5m long for 4 people something small and nice

now I need more engineering information about making the right decisions like
    planning the hull right, when it will flip over, how fast will it go, what materials to use, need to do some max stress calculations and so on...

if anyone here made an engineering project which is only about a catamaran and can send me some information it will be GREAT!

(the wind turbine system is no problem for me I have all the information I need except the needed HP for the motors to make this boat move)

p.s
    ----
    I am trying to design the catamaran inspired by a scorpion shape

2. nivo7

nivo7 Junior Member

3. Jeremy Harris

Jeremy Harris Senior Member

If you have the wind turbine data, then you already know the maximum forces that the turbine will impose on the mast that supports it. Knowing these forces will allow you to determine the heeling and pitching moments that can be applied to the hulls and therefore the length, beam and displacement needed.