Fully Electric Cargo Ship for Amazon River (Boat Design: 1st Post)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by FullyElectricAM, Feb 27, 2016.

1. FullyElectricAM

FullyElectricAM Junior Member

Good Morning All! I am new to your page and have been skimming it here for about a week. I am very impressed at the maturity and level of dialog this BBS uses. I am not new to this type of system and have served as an Administrator on a few myself, so I know how quickly things can turn. I have been taking the information from the site and I have never built a boat before, so nearly everything I have so far has been taken from PDF books download, website information, and this bulletin board. Bear with me, please! As Bill Hicks would say, "Strap In! Cause here we go!"

I am in the early phases of designing a small cargo ship for life and use in the Amazon Jungle. The river system here has many such vessels operating on diesel engines already. They look like the ships on the following page: http://www.alamy.com/stock-photo/peru-transport-amazon-river.html

The mission of the boat is as follows:

I need to start by designing the ship itself, I would like to build my model on the following information:

Size: 89 feet long x 34 feet wide for the in water hull, 3 decks high at 34 feet from hull bottom to roof height
    Weight: 200 tons @ full load
    Hull Shape: Flat Bottom

The hull shape will be very standard, with no special designs for cavitation or increased flow to the props. A flat bottom hull is the standard choice for my area and the river system. It will provide stability and consistent drag not to mention be easier to navigate into smaller tributaries and feeding rivers. A two prop system is best, and I think the propellers will be something like 36" with 5 blades at 750 RPM.