Which prop is right for my 25 Lb thrust Trolling motor

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by thudpucker, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    Awrite for my Barn!!!!:D
    I found enough parts n' pieces in my Barn to make this thing work. If you have a big Barn and NEVER throw anything away, you'll have what you need if you look long enough and stir up enough stuff!:p


    I found some stainless Cotter pin, some stainless shaft stock to make shear pins with, and two props.
    Both fit. I've never seen one of these motors in action so I don't know which prop. Here's a slide show. Look and tell me if one prop or the other is right, or if I have to do something different yet?
    stainlee or Plastic.jpg bittystainless.jpg Hurqumungo.jpg
     
  2. carl mccall
    Joined: Jul 2009
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: allentown florida

    carl mccall Junior Member

    i keep multiple props for different apps. some give more thrust some are weedles and believe it or not some are quieter under water i even have one that just wont kill my batteries
     
  3. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 34, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    The one that makes it draw about 20 A more and you are overloading it .
     
  4. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    LOL, C'mon PB, how'm I gonna know that?
    If I see gas bubbles coming up off that little motor I'll know its generating enough heat to separate the Hydrogen and I'm about to set the whole lake on fire.
     
  5. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 34, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    you measure it with an ammeter .......what planet are you on ????
     

  6. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    Yes I know about them air little Amp thingies.

    I have a good Fluke meter I could do that with.
    I'd set it on 10A....ooops, thats just not high enough eh?
    Its as high as my FLuke will go without an Amp-clamp which is a mite expensive when I can get by with just watching for bubbles.

    I did have all that stuff when I was working. I had a clamp-on meter that would read up to 300 amps to check starter draw. That would work. Its just that I havent seen that meter in nearly 10 years.

    I'll have to go with a good SWAG.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.