Which is best?

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Blitzburgh, Jun 24, 2007.

1. Blitzburgh

Blitzburgh New Member

I'm a newbie here and hope this question is appropriate...not only for this Forum but also this website. Here goes...

I'm new to boating. We're moving to Fernadina Beach, Florida and we've decided we want an Express Cruiser. We're more into a relaxed boating mode rather than a speed boat yet moving fast to accomodate a tube/whatever is necessary for the grandchildren who'll visit us.

It seems the size boat that would best accomodate us and our budget is a 27 to 32 footer. Question...which is best? Now before answering, please understand...

We've owned RV's and am seeing some real similarities between RV's and boats. That said...which is better, diesel or gas? In an RV, for me at least, it was a no brainer....Diesel! Yet it seems that limited use in a diesel boat isn't a good thing. Also, diesel boats are slower. As to the latter, the acceleration of a diesel RV was slower than gas though better/stronger once one is moving on the Interstate. Is that the case with a boat as well? Bottom line...from what I read it seems a gas engine for an Express Cruiser would be better than a diesel...true?

The other thing is, I never like to buy anything brand new. I see depreciation in boats takes a big whack just as they do in RV's. Generally, I like to get something that's 2 or 3 years old. I also see there are plenty of quality Express Cruiser's out there for sale but would like to know how effective a "marine inspector" is in determining the overall condition? What other resources are out there to help a novice buyer be sure they're getting a high quality, nearly new-like boat?