simple kayak or jonboat/bateau using coroplast?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by richg99, Sep 30, 2009.

1. richg99

richg99 New Member

I have need of a very light-weight --human powered-- small boat for fishing. I am considering using coroplast to keep the weight down. I can purchase the coro for $15.00 per 4 x 8 ft sheet. It is, apparently, also available in 12 foot x 4 ft pieces. If I can get the 12's I would keep the boat's length down to utilize the material.

Has anyone here used Coroplast for light-weight boat building? I have some experience using it for construction of small radio controlled model airplanes. thanks Rich

2. srimes

srimes Senior Member

well, I made a cardboard boat so I'm sure coroplast could work. For how long is the question.

How will you join it? That'd be the tricky part. Can it be welded with heat or solvents? For my cardboard boat I layered it with the ribs running opposite directions and I'd do the same with coroplast. I might have to try this too...

3. richg99

richg99 New Member

joining coroplast...

Well, Coro, when used in the r/c planes, is joined by
    #1 using C.A. (Super Glue) after properly preparing the surface ( that is a whole other discussion.)
    2. Polyurethane (Gorilla/Borden's) after "peckering" the surfaces with a "woodpecker" tool. That tool punches small holes and allows the poly-glue to expand and form "rivets" on the interior of both surfaces. I believe that 3M5200 is a form of Polyurethane glue. 3M 5200 would be great, I'd think.
    #3 Contact cement has been mentioned with some good and some bad results.
    #4 Hot melt glue with the head of the glue gun pressed against the Coro until it almost melts the plastic. The correct hot melt glue stick seems to be necessary. The older yellowish material seems better than the new "multi-temp" milky white sticks.