Where to start? - help please.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Time, Jun 21, 2007.

1. Time

Time Junior Member

Firstly I'm not a designer of any sort.
    I've had a "vision", if you will, of owning a ultra slender hull trimaran. Diesel powered wave piercing.
    8.5mLOA 2.5m Beam as the max dimensions. Fully enclosed F16 styled canopy cockpit with tandem seating for 2. It would need to be very stable, strong etc etc. Sponsons connected to center hull by aero styled "wings".

Can anyody help me to develope the dream?

Time.

2. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Fun

Sounds like a fun idea, some remarks:

-Ultra slender hulls carrying 2 people and a diesel engine will perhaps have to be longer than 8.5m

-A very stable design will possibly have to be wider than 2.5m

-The 2.5m beam will not leave much room for functional wings on a trimaran.

Is there a reason for the 8.5mLOA 2.5m Beam limitations?

3. Time

Time Junior Member

Sea spark,
    If you use "earthrace" www.earthrace.net as an example, scale it to 36% of it's size then you get a boat that is roughly the dimensions i'm after. Now i have to admit that not being familiar with scaling and it's effects on the boat dynamics, so i don't know if that is a valid proposal. But i'm happy to have it explained to me.
    If you consider that the center hull need only be 700-900mm wide to enable a person to sit in (i know thisis not much room but my glider has less room then this and is very comfortable) then you have a wing length of 80cm (i supose if extra width is needed you can simply design the wings to fold) I have no idea on stability requirements etc etc. So with that in mind lets redefine the dimensions.
    8.5m trailerable length (to allow for folding/removeable bow)
    2.5m trailerable width (to allow for folding/removal of the sponsons and wings.

When i said "aero" styled wings i ment jus the general shape, the would be there merly as a means to attach the sponsons to the centre hull.

Time.