Where to get Linespan for Passenger ship?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by cewsun, Jul 14, 2010.

1. cewsun

cewsun Junior Member

Hello, everyone, I am new here.
    Currently I am still studying.
    I need help to get a lifespan for passenger ship. Does anyone know where can i get the AutoCAD drawing for lifespan and General Arrangement (GA) for passenger ship? :confused:

Hope to hear from you all..:p

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Do you possibly mean "Lines Plan" ?

That will be almost impossible to get for free. The same is valid for a detailed GA.

Regards
    Richard

3. cewsun

cewsun Junior Member

Hi, apex1, thank for your info and correction.
    sorry, i m still new to the field. I am currently studying the marine technology.
    Ya, the words should be lines plan.
    I need to do a academy ship design by using a basic lines plan of passenger ship. My lecturer request us to get one in order for us to refer. Do you think any where i can get one for passenger ship, i m going to use it for academy purpose, not commercial.

4. JRMacGregor

JRMacGregor Junior Member

There is a SNAME paper published in Marine Technology (their magazine) called THE SPEED OF THE UNITED STATES

The UNITED STATES was a very large and fast passenger ship from more than 50 years ago.

Her hullform is very different from that of modern cruise ships.

If I recall correctly, the lines plan (or at least the body plan) is in that paper.

Your college/university should have access to the SNAME papers.

5. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Yes, the SNAME paper does indeed have the lines plan and a complete discussion of her performance. The reference for the paper is:

"The Speed of the SS United States"
    by John R. Kane
    Marine Technology, Vol. 15, No.2, April 1978, pages 119-143

Marine Technology is the quarterly journal of SNAME.

Eric

6. cewsun

cewsun Junior Member

Thank you, JRMacGregor and Eric.