mast material?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by darlian, Apr 1, 2010.

1. darlian

darlian Junior Member

newbie here from Indonesia..

me and my team is building 38m phinisi, right now we still making the centerline structure.
    this boat will have two mast. the lower main mast will be abt 400mm diameter and 30m high from the keelson.
    and the top mast 300mm and 15 m.
    what will be the best material to make these masts, wood (red meranti or Oregone pine or?),galv steel pipe?alu?

thanks.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

3. darlian

darlian Junior Member

thanks for the reply mr. White
    we dont have marine grade alu in Indonesia so it has to be imported.. and i am also not familiar with alu mast construction..where can i learn about this?do you know any web site?

the owner wants this boat to have traditonal rig, as far as i know,many traditonal european sailing boats have mast made from steel or wood and modern rig usually have alu mast.....is it possible to mix traditional and modern rig? thanks in advance.

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

You can, like many people have done, use an aluminum mast on a wooden boat. I suggest you look up a mast fabricator and ask about the type of alloy that would be used.
    Unlike a typical sailboat mast, a gaff rig needs no special extrusion of course. A simple round pipe will do, with an upper section that's either tapered or smaller diameter. Both steel and aluminum are simple to weld parts to, and modifications are very simple. Wood would require parts to be bolted on, although most of those can be shop-made from steel and galvanized.
    Use any one of the three choices. Each has advantages and disadvantages. I like the idea of aluminum because it machines easily, especially the parts welded or attached to it, which can be machined on woodworking equipment. They can even be made by a good carpenter.