Foil Assist for current kayak trimaran then building dedicated trimaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by kaymaran, Dec 15, 2015.

1. kaymaran

kaymaran Previous Member

Hi everyone,

I’m a new member here (although I've been reading the site for about a year now) so please try to understand if I ask something dim.

Also apologies up front as there is quite a lot of info here so I understand if you get bored part way through.

I have some small sailing experience on Hobies/Darts/Lasers and Argos recently and some building experience having built a CLC Sport Tandem sea kayak and then converted it to a hybrid trimaran with the CLC Mk3 sailrig. (Also well into old cars so have a bit of mechanical ability.)

This has been great but the recommended mast was far too bendy so I have put on some stays and added an RS200 jib and it flies along. (one of the videos below shows the mast all over the place but was far from the worst it looked...

It is however still very slow to tack as it is very light, 22ft long, the leeboard is too short and the mast too far forward - all being remedied over the winter I hope.

I have then recently added some test wooden trampoline frames so my wife can hop out of the front cockpit to help keep it flat when breezy but don’t have any decent video of that yet.

Here’s a couple of links showing some of the development and some videos:
    Some early build photos and test with various windsurf rigs:

http://smalltrimarans.com/blog/clc-double-outrigger-kayak-with-mark-iii-sailrig/

A few photos of main rig, jib and trampolines
    http://smalltrimarans.com/blog/clc-sport-tandem-with-sailrig-mk3-project-under-testing/

A video of the trampolines being tested unfortunately in almost non-existent wind
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4E8jH7c1F1A

and since then it has been raining / no daylight / blowing a gale so nothing useful to report.