Cross 27

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by rubyjeaan, Mar 19, 2012.

1. rubyjeaan

rubyjeaan Junior Member

Any thoughts on this design. Looking for your thoughts for a coastal cruiser.
    I'm new to Multihulls, have over 50,000 nm sailing mono's. Getting old and not as sprie as I once was. Go figger huh..Michael..

2. cavalier mk2

cavalier mk2 Senior Member

The Cross 26 is a great boat, a round hull 27 would be a little faster. If you want room in that size the Tristar 27-9 has twice as much, the Cross will have more speed. They have done well coastal cruising and racing back in the day. The fixed keel will handle bumps but not let you nose up to the beach. Of course any tri without a skeg or short keel for beaching shouldn't be grounded. I think the 27 has a deeper keel than the 26 though most of the Cross designs have options. A good all rounder.

3. rubyjeaan

rubyjeaan Junior Member

Cav, I've had thought's of placing small keels on the ama's as well and maybe shortening the main keel. Do you think this is a stupid thought? having a shallow draft would be nice for cruising the Key's. Still trying to figure out what to do. The Horstman seems to have a lot of windage. I've been sailing a flush deck Haida and love the low profile. Michael..

4. cavalier mk2

Actually Norman Cross offered the option on boats that needed super shallow draft. The Nicols were all that way, I'll post the pdf of Clipper here and on the Nicol plan thread to give you an idea about placement.You'd probably want to go a littles deeper. At 25' Clipper is in the size range you're looking at. One was sailed half way round the world. If you can live without the headroom the Cross would be faster to windward. Measure the Tristar freeboard and set up something so you can see if it is too tall for you.

Attached Files:

5. rubyjeaan

rubyjeaan Junior Member