boat side angle

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Dragon Feorge, Apr 26, 2019.

1. Dragon Feorge

Dragon Feorge Junior Member

How do I change the side angle from zero to about 12 degrees on a 12-14 ft Jon boat with a side height of 16-18 inches. I found a few articles online from old magazines with designs for Jon boats. I like how they look with the exception of one that has zero angle on the sides. I am a machinist, have my own shop, and am quite capable of building a boat.
    Anyone have any suggestions? I am thinking of building a model first to see what my future boat will look like.

Last edited: Apr 26, 2019
  2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Dragon; are you referring to flare where the sides of the boat are wider at the top (gunnel) than at the bottom where the sides meet the bottom (chine)?

You could increase flare, if you must, but there will be a serious amount of work and expense to do so. Finally, why do you want to change the design of the boat? Do you presume that the boat will become more stable? That it will improve performance somehow? Please explain your motives.

3. Dragon Feorge

It's a matter of preference. I have been in several Jon boats. Both with straight sides(same at the gunwale and chine) and with about 2-5 inches difference per side at the gunwale. Those with straight sides were what I would call a wetter ride than those with just 4 inches difference total across the gunwale.
    I suppose I could just add a rub rail of about an inch on the outside of the gunwale to help keep water from coming over the sides.
    I understand that building the boat in the one set of plans with straight sides, straight transom and a flat bow does make it much cheaper and faster to build.

4. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

Just find the plans with a design you like, there are thousands out there.

fallguy likes this.
  5. Angélique

Angélique aka Angel (only by name)

Old magazine Jon Boat plans with vertical sides PDF

[​IMG]