What software do i need to render.

Discussion in 'Software' started by Laranjo123, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

  2. ldigas
    Joined: Feb 2011
    Posts: 187
    Likes: 4, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 60
    Location: Zagreb, Croatia

    ldigas Senior Member

    It's rather hard to say, if not impossible, while looking at a final rendering, what software was used to produce it.

    That being said, Rhino is one of the currently more popular CAD applications in marine design, and it has a nice little gallery here http://gallery.mcneel.com/?language=en&g=3 with lots of user submitted examples, who often also mention what modeller and what renderer they used to produce the image. Maybe that can serve you as a starting point of a sort.

    Btw, that is a nice boat. It must've taken quite a few hours if it is modelled & rendered in ACAD'12. Is it only a design or a vessel in production?
     
  3. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    Actually. The hull was made from maxsurf then exported to CAD.It's a design and a vessel production sir. A naval architect hired me to do it's 3D. Still i need ideas on realistic rendering maybe a couple touch of Photoshop will do the trick...Btw Thank you sir
     
  4. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 841
    Likes: 54, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Laranjo123 the quickest and easiest way would be to use another programme as a bridge to other render engines. An example would be, say into sketchup using a autocad dwg/dxf plugin then use one of the many 3rd party plug in renderers for skechup to get your photo realistic render. This way you don’t have to learn new modelling software just the materials and lighting of the render.
    Rhino has a number of plug in that do the same
    http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/design-software/rhino-flamingo-nxt-wip-40202.html
     
  5. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    Thank you haha now imma use my sketchup. Actually i dump that . Thinking what will be it's use for me in the future hehe..Now it's useful thanks again
     
  6. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    Actually the main Problem would be, what specs of my computer am i using. Haha

    CPU : Inter Core i5 2.3 ( 2nd gen )
    Ram : 2gb
    Vcard : Nvidia Gefore GT540M Cuba 1gb.

    I need to add more ram on this....
     
  7. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    bhnautika sir does Rhino has the capability to produce realistic renders?...
     
  8. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 841
    Likes: 54, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Laranjo123 rhino is a surface modeller; the rendering is done with other programmes either with in rhino or outside. The render engine that comes with rhino is capable of some rendering but lacks some of the specialist lighting and material handling of the plug ins. As for realistic renders its up to the user and the software.
     
  9. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    actually when i render i use Autodesk showcase autocad and 3d max or maya . The problem is my unit....it get's hot when it does rendering. i'm only using my laptop for that
     
  10. ludesign
    Joined: Aug 2003
    Posts: 211
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 60
    Location: Sweden

    ludesign Senior Member

  11. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    Ahm sirs could you rate my render 1 - 10?... it's ok if it's 0 >.< hehe
     
  12. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 841
    Likes: 54, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Laranjo123 what programme did you use to render the model?
     
  13. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    i'd already typed it AutoCAD 2012 at medium render only....why?..
     
  14. Laranjo123

    Laranjo123 Previous Member

    Heres my Other renders...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

  15. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 841
    Likes: 54, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Laranjo123 the reason I asked about which programme, was that you originally stated autocad and 3dmax and maya. These last two are capable of doing photo realistic rendering where the autocad seems to have a more shaded look.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.