gelcoat/skin coat lamination issues

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by goodwrch, Jun 10, 2003.

1. goodwrch

goodwrch Junior Member

I am a amateur boat builder working at home, I have had a problem with my skin coat lamination on several layups so far, Im getting voids where the first layer of mat is not staying in contat with my gelcoat. the problem is occuring in the hatch areas of the deck and chine/strake areas of the hull, basically where there is a sharp bend or corner. I have started using a puddy to fill in the areas after my first couple layers are hand layed to ease further layups, my question is........does anyone know if you can use the puddy against the gelcoat, its a catalist hardened puddy, and would elimate the pain of hand laying strips around all the hatches...pics are attached of my delemas, thank you for any and all responses.

2. Reese

Reese Junior Member

Don't see the pics yet...

guess there is a time delay.

No matter...I'm also glassing my project boat and yes, the outside corners are always the most difficult to get the glass to adhere.

One technique you may want to try (only with Laminating Resin) is to coat whatever area you intend to glass over and let the resin sit untill it's very sticky.

Apply your cloth (this won't work with mat) over the area and press down with your hand, squeegy, or cardboard...it should stay put. Wait at least an hour after you've applied the cloth before resinning over.

It's always best not to have sharp corners when glassing but sometime it's unavoidable and this technique works pretty well. Good luck.

Yes, you can use a catalyzed putty like Kitty Hair over the gel coat.

3. Jeff

Jeff Moderator

The picture(s) didn't make it to the server for some reason... maybe you could try posting them again? (You can only attach one picture per post in the forums and it works best to keep them fairly small, jpg format...)

4. goodwrch

goodwrch Junior Member