What kind of coating is this

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Brian Blake, Jun 16, 2018.

1. Brian Blake

Brian Blake Junior Member

So my poor old wooden 17ft Pelin has had some nicks and dings over its life. The images attached show a couple of spots where it's been well abused and I want to fix them, and I'm new to this.

So;

1. What is the coating? Is it glass over ply? It doesn't seem heavy enough of thick enough to me
    2. Is it a gel coat onto ply? (and is that just a very high build marine paint?
    3. How likely am I to be able to repair these to an almost non-visible state?

Sorry for the noob questions, before I start on the repair I figure its smart to know what I'm repairing right?

Thanks
    Brian

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      98.3 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      38.1 KB
      Views:
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      101 KB
      Views:
  2. missinginaction

missinginaction Senior Member

Hi Brian and Welcome,