What design software to use

Discussion in 'Software' started by Paul Bakker, Sep 2, 2002.

1. Paul Bakker

Paul Bakker New Member

Hey,

I am an absolute beginner in yacht design and I am trying to make up my mind about which software I should use.

I would appreciate it a lot if some of you more experienced yacht designers could give me a helping hand and tell me what to use and why.

Most of the software is pretty expensive and I don't want to purchase the wrong software . . .

Any help would be welcome !

Kind regards,

Paul Bakker

2. Jeff

Jeff Moderator

Hi Paul,

First, welcome to our forums!

As to your question, my first recommendation (if you haven't done so already) is to visit the web sites of each and every one of the programs on our list at http://boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=82 and download or request a demo for each one as well as a current price quote and then spend a couple evenings creating a quick model in each one or just get a feel for working on one of the models which is included in the demo. Since you will be making a long term decision, it will be worth it to get a hands-on look at each of the demos - a lot of the decision depends on the way you work and how your style of designing meshes with the way the software is designed. Many people like AutoShip, ProSurf, Prolines, and MaxSurf. Others here like MultiSurf, and lots of people are starting to use Rhino either as a stand-alone or in conjunction with one of the others because it is an all-around modeler at a very low price. And I don’t mean to exclude the others on the list like FastShip or DefCar – they just have a more specific market because of their cost and focus.