Australian substitute timbers??

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Col Sto, Jul 3, 2019.

1. Col Sto

Col Sto New Member

Hello everyone,

Looking for some fellow aussies to give me some guidance in finding a cost effective substitute for African Mahogany for the structural elements of a Glen L Ski King I'm building.

Cheapest option is MGP15 but its a softwood and I think it's a no go. Saying that I've seen a lot of people (in Australia) using it on youtube but as a builder I don't know if its a great idea putting pine in the water (even if its covered in epoxy).

Should I just be looking at weight and durability or all the factors as a whole? I've attached a table I made up.

Cheers Boys!

Attached Files:

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Your typical local marine ply in Australia is made from Hoop Pine. MGP15 is Radiata (Monterey) Pine. You'd probably struggle to get Hoop Pine in Melbourne, it being a more northern species. Can you get treated Radiata, that might be OK ?

3. Col Sto

Col Sto New Member

I can ask Hyne to treat it with a H4 treatment when ordering it, they charge by batch so I would have to get the whole cutting/material list together first. Still a whole lot cheaper than using the African Mahogany or American Oak.

I wonder if the treatment would affect the epoxy bonding.

4. Mr Efficiency

Good idea to check about the effect of treatments on the epoxy bond.

5. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member