DUDLEY DIX-Didi 40

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Sly, Sep 26, 2006.

1. Sly

Sly Junior Member

Hi, this is my first post. Although i have been viewing the forums on this site for a couple months now i finally thought i would post my first post.
    I just wanted to ask the members of boatdesign.net for there opinion on this particular design. I have done extensive research on Dudley's Designs, the radius chine plywood method of building that is used to build it. And i have red most of the testimonials, and builder’s websites that have built and are currently building the Didi38/40.

So what are your opinions on the model, the design itself? I’m located on the shores of Lake Ontario 15 minutes away from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I would like to use the boat for racing at the local yacht club and eventually sail it down the east coast and across the ocean to Europe and finally stopping in the Baltic Sea.

Here is a link to the Didi 38 page on Dudley's website: http://www.dixdesign.com/38didi.htm
    Thank you for your time gentleman.

Sylvester Sawala

1 person likes this.
  2. Murdock

Murdock Junior Member

Goin' deep out the ocean on a chined/ply hull? don't forget to carry a Bible...

3. Sly

Sly Junior Member

Bad idea?...i guess its time to look for a new boat(haha)...but for all intensive purposes lets forget about sailing to Europe and just look at the other aspects of the design...the new question is...where would you sail it and where not? Would the design/construction materials allow you a safe trip down the east coast towards the Caribbean or even Bermuda or if you get caught in some ruff seas are you toast?

4. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

#1 Chined plywood hulls have been sailed thousands of miles as safely as any other type.