mast location

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by sailormantoo200, Jul 24, 2011.

1. sailormantoo200

sailormantoo200 New Member

I'm building a small trimaran using an Inter 20 hull for the center hull. I have shortened the hull and would like to attach the crossbeams and mast base.
    Is there a formula for locating the mast( how far from the bow and/or stern)? The mast will sit on the front crossbeam.
    Thanks!

2. graemery

graemery New Member

I'm not a designer so my terminology may be off and since no one else is responding . . .

There isn't so much a formula as how you want the boat to perform. If you do or do not want the boat to have lee or weather helm, then you put the mast so the center of effort of the sail is aligned over your centerboard/daggerboard. If the center of effort is in front of the board, you will have lee helm and the boat likes to head down wind and steering can be difficult. If it has weather helm, the center of effort is behind the board and the boat likes to turn into the wind and stall and steering can be difficult.

Sorry you get a schlep such as I to answer your post.

3. sailormantoo200

sailormantoo200 New Member

Thanks! I have only an empty hull, as of yet. The daggerboard has not been installed yet. The board will be installed after the crossbeams and the mast. Thanks for the tip on lee and weather helm.
    I guess I wanted to know how factory boats are assembled, in order to be in line with their placement of masts.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

You would be best advised to make a scale drawing of the rig and place it over the available lateral area center in an optimized way. In short, you should have a plan as, taking a wild swing will just cause you to cuss a lot on launch day. The location of the CE in relation to the CLP can vary by as much as 20% of the LWL, so it's fairly important to get it right.