Help with Strake Modeling

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Matt Culik, Aug 22, 2022.

1. Matt Culik

Matt Culik New Member

Hi. Total newbie here.

I'm trying to 3D model my take on a Bertram 31 hull in Fusion 360 based on drawings and photos I've found online. I've got the basic hull form figured out (I think...), but I'm having difficulty with the strakes underneath.

Here are some pics of the strakes:

Cardinal Trailer Specs for Bertram 31 Hull https://www.bertram31.com/specs/index.html
    https://www.thehulltruth.com/4749012-post205.html

I have tried tracing the strakes in 2D in Fusion 360 and then extrapolating to 3D, but no matter which way I do it (start with a top down view, start with a profile view, etc., etc.), they get all messed up. I even tried calculating the XYZ points using interpretations of best fit lines and some trig, but I can't get them to work either.

Basically, I'm hoping this forum can help me understand how strakes move on the bottom of the hull, and what is the proper 2D way to think about strakes when drawing a boat.

For example, are the strakes always parallel to the centerline and just give the appearance of moving up and in because of the curvature of the hull? And should I think of them as part of the station drawings, or is it easier to think about them when looking at the hull from top down?

Also, I just want to confirm another thing that my eyes might be messing with, which is that the deadrise of the Bertram 31 increases as you progress to the bow. Is that correct? I have it at the quoted 24 degree deadrise from the stern to about amidships, then tapering inward from there to a final deadrise of 50 degrees at the bow. Does that sound right?

Thanks!

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Matt.

Is it possible to post any copies of your Fusion drawings on here?