Welding Stainless Steel 316- Quenching or Not?

Discussion in 'Materials' started by raf pali, Jun 22, 2018.

1. raf pali

raf pali Junior Member

Some time back I heard that SS welding should be quenched. I vaguely remember is to avoid precipitation of atoms or some thing of the like.
    I did a search on the net and found little about it and some confusing info too.
    Does anyone here know of it please?

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

You can do whatever you like, with, anything you like.

But, in doing this, what is your objective...?...what do you have to gain or achieve...since your question is far too vague.

3. raf pali

raf pali Junior Member

I'm not a pro steel worker, just want to do it right when I have to weld SS. My question implies, as you say, is there anything to gain or achieve in quenching SS? Thanks

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

But doing "something" has an objective...what is yours.

Since to quench or not to quench....everyone has a reason why they wish to do it. It might simply be because the fabby doesn't like hot steel about the place, each reason, in design, is different for everyone and needs to be addressed as to WHY....
    Thus, you have not stated your reason why.

5. alan craig

alan craig Senior Member

raf pali likes this.
  6. raf pali

raf pali Junior Member

Thank you Alan, your post lead to learn that there are a number of issues when welding these materials.
    Here is about Sigma Phase Embrittlement of Stainless Steel in FCC Service - OnePetro https://www.onepetro.org/conference-paper/NACE-06578
    Here more in depth about
    Intergranular corrosion - Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intergranular_corrosion
    It mentions precipitation of chromium carbide at the grain boundaries.
    From the article: "...
    quenching it in water, leading to dissolution of the chromium carbide in the grains and then preventing its precipitation..."

7. alan craig

alan craig Senior Member