Considering Bruce Roberts/Almarine Steel Kit... Opinions?

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by Cabin Boy, Aug 30, 2004.

1. Cabin Boy

Cabin Boy New Member

I'm considering purchasing the Voyager 495/Bermuda 485 steel kit from Bruce Roberts/Almarine. I was wondering if anyone had any experience at all with that specific kit, or any of the BR steel sailboat kits. I'm looking for any information and experiences regarding the kits.

I have experience in boat-building, although not much. My father used to build custom boats for a living (Although they were large sport fishing boats, not sails) and he and I completed a 24ft powerboat a few years back. I have lots of experience in framing, carpentry, electrical and various finish work. I do not have experience with steel, but I have at least 4 friends who are professional welders/metal workers who will be available to aid in the contruction process. I am definitely ready to begin building another boat, so I would like information on your experiences dealing with these kit-suppliers were, how the build process went, and how satisfied you are with the completed boat.

Also, I noticed that there is a "www.bruceroberts.au" and a "www.bruceroberts.com" that sell the same plans/kits (Although one calls the model "Voyager" and one "Bermuda"--But it is the same boat). One site claims the other is illegally selling plans. It makes one a little uneasy about the purchase. Also, there is Almarine.com which sells the same exact plans. This is a bit confusing to me to, so feedback on this issue would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

William

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

3. Cabin Boy

Cabin Boy New Member

Thanks for the lead. I found some info there, but not really what I'm looking for. I'll keep searching though.

Thanks again,

William

4. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

Steel kits Bwermuda/Voyager