welding aluminium

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by captain butch, Oct 12, 2004.

1. captain butch

captain butch Junior Member

:) Hi; i'm new to the forum but not to boats and boatbuilding. I am taking a new direction however and as such need to do a bit of MIG welding. Does anyone have any tips on how to avoid what might be unforseen pitfalls in MIG welding? I have limited welding experience with stick welding many years ago but I am totally new to MIG.

2. Neno Babic

Neno Babic Guest

Aluminium boatbuilding

Hi
    I saw your message and that's exactly what I need too.
    I want to build a boat made of aluminium.
    Real experience is nothing and I stand that everything can be learned so I'm trying to pick up as much as I can from everywhere.
    Also machine to do welding. Is cutting more simple to do mechanic way or by cutting with welding machine.
    So please if you get some answers about welding aluminium and boat designs for aluminium let me know
    neno
    E-mail:neno@nenodiving.com

3. Arrowmarine

Arrowmarine Senior Member

Neno,