weatherhelm

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by getango, Aug 8, 2005.

1. getango

getango Junior Member

I have an old McVey Falcon 16. I sailed it twice in the last 2 years. Everytime I went out, the rudder broke due to severe weatherhelm. I am still a beginner sailor and I have tried in vain adjusting the mast angle to eliminate this problem. Can someone please help!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Rudders shouldn't break regardless or weather helm. You need to fix a structural problem. Can you describe what you mean by severe weather helm?

3. getango

getango Junior Member

Naturally, I expect some weather helm, but this is so bad that I have to hold the tiller against my stomach and even that's not enough. The pressure is incredible even with main fully released. I'm not sure what you mean by a structural problem. After the original wooden rudder broke, I bought a fiberglass rudder approximately the same size, but that one crushed under the hinges from the pressure. Am I trying to sail the boat in too much wind? I estimate both times I tried to sail it, wind speed was about 10 to 12 knots.
    I also have an 18' catamaran that I sail regularly, oh what a difference, I barely have to do anything with the rudders. Thanks for your help.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Is the mast as far forward as possible?

5. getango

getango Junior Member

Yes it is, but I managed to get just a little bit more out of it. The main stays were a bit loose and the turnbuckle on the forestay was in all the way, so I modified it slightly to get about .75" more. I did not get a chance to try it out this way yet. Do you think this much will help any?
    I have been trying to find information on this boat on the internet, there isn't much out there, but the few pictures I saw looked like the jibs were bigger than mine. Yesterday I talked with a sailmaker who told me a bigger jib will make the problem worse because the boat will heel over more. What do you think?

6. gonzo