Help me pick a lower unit!

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by echoes, Dec 5, 2005.

1. echoes

echoes New Member

Hey everyone, this is my first post here. I'm very new to boat design, and I'm in a group (of 10 senior mechanical engineering students) designing a solar powered boat. The boat will be a catamaran, around 12 feet long and 5 feet wide, with a single person onboard.

We have to compete in a short distance sprint, as well as a two hour long endurance race. The propeller guy tells me he wants to use a propeller with an 8" diameter for the sprint, and a propeller 12-14" in diameter for the endurance race.

We considered buying a totally integrated outboard motor, such as this Briggs and Stratton unit, but it takes only one propeller size. We don't have enough money to buy a different outboard for each event.

We are going to use the Briggs and Stratton Etek electric motor used in that outboard, but we need to find a lower unit that can either accomodate both propeller sizes, or could be easily modified to do so.

We might build our own lower unit, as discussed here, but that'd be much more labor intensive and we may not have the time. Still, if there are strong advantages to that, we wouldn't rule it out.

If anyone has any advice or could point me in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Does it have to be an outboard engine? How much thought have you given to a straight-shaft inboard arrangement? You'd want to have some sort of fairing around the shaft of course, and then you need a rudder too, but you'd get your prop flexibility and probably less drivetrain losses than with the outboard.