Absolute beginner here

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by cdubb, May 12, 2012.

1. cdubb

cdubb Junior Member

Hi all,

I am seiously contemplating building a sailboat to suit my needs as the harsh reality is that the boats I can afford simply will not be able to the thing i wish to do. I envision a boat of at least 40 foot in length, with a plywood hull to cut cost and maybe even a homemade junk style rig to further cut cost (and since they look bad *** to me). I have read a few boat building books but the one I've taken to heart the most is "Buehler's Backyard Boatbuilding by George Buehler for his preaching of a simple, no frills, cost effective vessel, which is what I am looking for. For me appearance and luxury is of the least concern (atleast up til the point it looks unsafe to friends and family I want to have sail with me cause thats no good at all) as is resale value.

Problem is a have minimal construction experience and very low funds for a project such as this. My experience is mainly working on and driving race cars on dirt tracks, which does't help me much in the way of building a boat.

I truly think I can pull this off and have alota years of fun on the lakes with a boat of my own construction its just a matter of getting going and having a general idea of what in the hell I am doing:D. The bad thing about books is that I am not a person who learns or retains much by reading, I am a hands on learner. Basically the books give me ideas but I have no freaking clue to how to act upon them is what it boils down to. What I need is a like minded person that I could look over their shoulder or even aid in building a boat even if just for a few hours, just to get me heading in the right direction.