hard-chined 24' ply/glass sailboat- question

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by molerocket, Aug 8, 2006.

1. molerocket

molerocket Junior Member

Hi, folks. Newbie here with another question, I've been helped greatly by you folks in the past. I'm slowly designing the weekend cruiser/camper sailboat of my dreams- the idea is to build it myself out of ply and glass.

Not sure how it will be powered yet (besides sail) and My ideas for an outboard are causing problems with the rudder placement.

I did hit upon the alternative of placing the rudder forward, as a hinged part of the keel below the mast. has this ever been done/is there a flaw with this idea? it seems somewhat elegant to me.

the reason i'm particular about engine/rudder placement is because as a homebuilder I don't care much for solutions that weaken the hull or increase the maintenance. worried about inboard propshafts/potential for leakage, etc.

if nothing else can you recommend a book I should be looking at?

Thanks for anything,
    Casey
    PS soon i'll have images of the design.

2. molerocket

molerocket Junior Member

here are some views of it. I'd be happy for feedback on the hull shape; the rest is still just rough stuff.

the idea with the forward rudder is that the post runs up a column just aft of the mast to a tiller below the ceiling (not shown) which will be cabled to a steering wheel.

there will be a cutout on the transom below the 'poop deck' for an outboard, if indeed I go that route.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The outboard is usually hanging from the stern. How does it interfere with the rudder?

4. frosh

frosh Senior Member

I would say that if you sail her backwards, she will steer quite nicely. However going the regular direction looks to be a problem of simple physics to me. If you can make it work, you must know something we don't.
    Why don't you worry about getting the sailboat part designed first in a more conventional way.