Wake Boat Designers

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by rootbros.custom, Mar 6, 2013.

1. rootbros.custom

rootbros.custom New Member

Hello all, I am a newcomer to this blog but am very interested in the current wake board and ski boat design industry. I am currently a sophomore transportation design student in college and am looking into going into the boat design field. I was just wondering if the design of the today's wake boats from company's like Supra, Malibu, Moomba, ect. was an in-house job or if most of the design work was outsourced to other design firms.I have noticed that Malibu Boats does have a product design division.Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Wakeboarding is great fun, perhaps, but it is a very small market sport.

Developing a career as a boat designer is not the most well advised thing that you can do. At least not if you plan to make a living doing that sort of thing. I would encourage you to study NA or boat design courses for fun, but not for profit. Even with an NA degree and a phi beta kappa key, the opportunities for employent are very scarce. Do some research before you set your major.

Forgive me for raining on your parade................and welcome to the forum. A lot of smart and generous people here will give you good council.. We like boat enthusiasts, so hang around.

3. rootbros.custom

rootbros.custom New Member

Thanks messabout I appreciate the advice!

4. Ike

Ike Senior Member

most wakeboard boats are in-house designs. Actually they are just a variation of traditional ski boats designed to throw a large wake instead a flat wake. SKiers liek a falt wake, wakeboards need a big wake.