overheading welding thin

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Sun Splinter, Jan 19, 2017.

1. Sun Splinter

Sun Splinter Sun Splinter

I'm a student working on solid core MIG overhead.

My goal is to be able to weld overhead at the thickness of a beer can without backing...it seems a shame to crush all that aluminum and sandblasting might save it(roofing?).

I'm currently working on 1/16" stainless steel and have produced .65 acceptable results by my own opinion(in the overhead position).

I'm looking for any tips/trick or stories concerning the welding of thin material which may include auto-body work or fixed-position pipe work.

2. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

The recycling of cans is well evolved process... without raining on your personal goals of welding prowess maybe better to focus on the 1/16th material and above.
    All the best in your endeavours from Jeff

3. Sun Splinter

I understand that its probably impossible to weld flattened and cleaned beer cans together, but this idea is the reason I started welding in the first place and will some day attempt to do so.

I can weld 1/8th inch stainless plate butt joints w/o backing in the overhead just fine, but 1/16th inch is sloppy...I can make maybe a quarter inch weld at a time before releasing the trigger and waiting a moment for the weld to cool else risk puncture and nozzle impairment.

Something that would help me greatly would be a MIG gun with two triggers...one for the argon and one for the wire feed.

4. Barry

Barry Senior Member

Most mig guns, have the double trigger situation under control. You pull the trigger back say 90% and get only argon, then complete the pull and the arc starts.

On thin aluminum, you can pull 90% , argon flow, pull some more, arc, release back to the 90% for continued argon flow which provides cooling and inhibits oxide formation, then pull the trigger for another short arc. etc

ie a series of tack welds but always sheilded

5. Sun Splinter