Purpose of High rpm Low Torque Engines

Discussion in 'Gas Engines' started by baboonslayer, Dec 21, 2010.

1. baboonslayer

baboonslayer Junior Member

I honestly don't see the point in modern 4000+ rpm gas engines that are complicated and have a lot of electronics. The high rpm wears down the cylinder sleeve way quicker than any low rpm high torque heavy flywheel engine does. They are too complicated for the average person to work on. Also, they suck down fuel like a jumbo jet. You could compare their torque output to that of an electric toothbrush motor. So, I ask again, why are we using these motors? Theoretically speaking, they are manufactured to break, right? What happened to the old gas engines, which were simple, reliable, and fuel efficient?

1 person likes this.
  2. P Flados

P Flados Senior Member

I am not an expert on power boat stuff, but I have had this discussion with a pretty knowledgeable former marine mechanic.

Modern engine technology is adapting to a more "disposable" mindset. The cost of labor for major maintenance combined with inventory costs for needed parts is making engines more expensive to "maintain" and cheaper to replace. Diagnosis of hard to find problems across the spectrum of all of the motors out there can be real tough for a service dept.

When they wear out or get unreliable, it can be cheaper and better business (for them) to just replace the entire engine.

This mindset pushes thinking toward a primary objective of Horsepower vs. manufacturing cost with low weight as a plus. This gives us high rpm engines with lots of small parts but with minimum big heavy expensive material parts. Modern mass production and automation can push a lot of these out the door without a lot of skilled worker man-hours invested.