44 (55) Gallon drum pontoon boat

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Doodfish, Jan 23, 2006.

1. Doodfish

Doodfish New Member

I was just wondering if it was possible to use these welded lid steel drums to make the pontoons of a small 20 foot closed water party type pontoon boat, intended for slow cruising/fishing and powered by a couple of 5 hp outboards. I am on a small budget and want to make it as cheap and simple as possible.

My thoughts were to weld roughly 7 drums together for each pontoon and weld two steel angle irons across the top for a backbone to mount the platform supports also adding a cone on the front of each for bows.

The surface area of the drums, at a glance, seems larger than the pontoons of an actual properly designed plan that I have bought for a plywood pontoon boat 22 to 24 inch diameter versus 18 wide by 19 inches deep for the plywood plans.

The thickness of the steel drums is about .8 mm to 1.2mm depending on the drum as I am not experienced with welding, would his be thick enough to weld with ARC welder?

Would the pontoons as I've described possibly buckle be easily dented?
    And if so would filling each one with some type of floation foam help give them enough extra rigidity.

As the skins of the pontoons would be far from smooth - the raised pressing at 1/3 and 2/3 marks and lid and bottom ( I'd endeavour to smooth out the joins as much as possible) - Would the extra drag be a too big a burden?

2. jeremy66158

jeremy66158 New Member