KTM Barracuda Foiler

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Chris Ostlind, Jan 19, 2009.

1. Chris Ostlind

Chris Ostlind Previous Member

While I was working my way through college back in the 70's, I was a freelance motorcycle journalist/photographer. I don't ride bikes anymore because the roads are just way too zany and a serious accident is an ugly proposition. Still, I have a smoldering desire to stay up with the business end of the motorcycle trade and this just came across my desk... the high performance motorcycel manufacturer, KTM, has just unveiled the design for a new foiling watermachine that looks like a shredder right out of the box.

Here's the press release that came in the mail, along with a set of images showing the new foiler:

"January 16, 2009 Austria’s KTM diversified from its competition off-road motorcycle core product with first it's razor-sharp road bike range, and more recently the X-Bow road-registerable racecar. There’s no doubt new markets are on the horizon and a recent design study has unearthed an interesting potential next stop for the company that prides itself on its machinery being “Ready to Race.” The KTM Barracuda Hydrofoil has been conceived as a circuit racing machine for the water. Extremely agile, yet designed to be self-stabilizing, the Barracuda takes the philosophy of the RC8 superbike and X-BOW sportscar to the water."

The Barracuda looks to be a dedicated, hauling butt powered foiler that will appeal to the same crowd that are currently tearing around your local lakes with their V8 wakeboard boats... we'll see.

Below... Designers, Christoph Albiez & Thomas Perz, as well as photos of the scale model being weight tested in a pool

Attached Files:

2. Munter

Munter Amateur